top of page

Kavala, ancient Philippi & Sani beach resort!


After our day of being rained on and spending the night in Kavala, my group and I toured the city learning about the ancient buildings and womens cooperatives where we met the most amazing greek woman named Ana. She treated us to coffee, pasteries and talked to us about the struggles her and the generations before her faced living in Greece. She gave me a whole new perspective on life and I am so happy I was able to meet such an inspiring woman.

After spending the morning in Kavala we packed up and drove out to ancient Philippi where we toured the ancient greek theatre and several other historical landmarks. So much to see and it was VERY hot that day but all in all it was such a great learning experience. I was exhausted, hot and my brain was on overload so I was able to sneak in a quick nap on the bus ride back to Thessaloniki where I immediatly walked into my room, packed some different clothes into my backpack and set off in a taxi to Sani beach resort in Halkidiki! It was the first night of my 3 day sailing trip required for my sailing class. While in sani we explored the amazing resort we were at, had a very fancy dinner and ended the night enjoying a jazz music festival as the sun was setting over the water. It really doesn't get much better than this! (I find myself saying that nearly every day that I'm here) After the jazz festival the few of us that were apart of the sailing class headed back to the marina next to the resort and hopped aboard to get some sleep. I wasn't exactly thrilled to be sleeping on a small sailing boat with 5 other people for the next 2 nights, but it's all apart of the experience right?!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page